I smile too much

December 22, 2005

I smile too much. My friends know I joke too much as well. Not the funny, ha-ha kind of joking, but in (I would like to think) a more witty, acerbic kind of way. I seem at times amused by the most mundane things, by the way people say things, by an advertisement on television.

Yet when I sit down to write, I always find that my writing takes on a more serious, darker tone. I want to be able to write in the way I speak, break out the same jokes and point out the same absurdities in my amused manner. But all that comes out is this.

What does that say about me?

Leave a Reply

